DICOM TransferSyntaxUID

Referring to my recent post about the DICOM standard, the list of all valid transfer syntaxes is shown below. A DICOM transfer syntax defines how DICOM objects are serialized to transmit them through a network or to save them into a file.

The DICOM transfer syntax is specified by the TransferSyntaxUID located in element number (0002, 0010). There exist 35 different DICOM transfer syntaxes, but 14 have been retired from earlier standard versions and will not be supported in future DICOM releases.

The 21 valid DICOM transfer syntaxes are listed in the following table :

TransferSyntaxUID Transfer Syntax Name Comments
1.2.840.10008.1.2 Implicit VR Endian Default
1.2.840.10008.1.2.1 Explicit VR Little Endian
1.2.840.10008. Deflated Explicit VR Big Endian
1.2.840.10008.1.2.2 Explicit VR Big Endian
1.2.840.10008. JPEG Baseline (Process 1) Default Lossy JPEG 8-bit
1.2.840.10008. JPEG Baseline (Process 2 & 4) Default Lossy JPEG 12-bit
1.2.840.10008. JPEG Lossless, Nonhierarchical (Processes 14)
1.2.840.10008. JPEG Lossless, Nonhierarchical First- Order Prediction
1.2.840.10008. JPEG-LS Lossless
1.2.840.10008. JPEG-LS Near-Lossless
1.2.840.10008. JPEG 2000 Lossless Only
1.2.840.10008. JPEG 2000
1.2.840.10008. JPEG 2000 Multicomponent Lossless Only
1.2.840.10008. JPEG 2000 Multicomponent
1.2.840.10008. JPIP Referenced
1.2.840.10008. JPIP Referenced Deflate
1.2.840.10008.1.2.5 RLE Lossless
1.2.840.10008. RFC 2557 MIME Encapsulation
1.2.840.10008. MPEG2 Main Profile Main Level
1.2.840.10008. MPEG-4 AVC/H.264 High Profil Level 4.1
1.2.840.10008. MPEG-4 AVC/H.264 BD High Profil Level 4.1